Last night, I taught an Adult Ed course for 3 hours from 7-10pm.  Got home at 10:20 and collapsed.  This is not easy when you get up at 5:20am to get in a workout.  Long Day – 17.5 hours from wake up to fall down.   Tonight is a Continuing Ed course.  This time, I get to sit and listen to others speak, while I eat a not so perfect dinner on a hard chair.  With a little bit of luck, I will not snore during the lecture and I’ll be home by 9:30pm.

The alarm went off at 5:20 as usual.  I did so want to roll over and sleep but we are going away and I will not be able to exercise for probably a solid 7-9 days.  I need to keep my numbers up or I will not hit my 52DC Goals.

Cardio today.  I stood on the treadmill – one of the new ones – and was so tired I could not find the start button.  Sad.  Finally got it moving – not me – just it.  The machine carried me along.  I did 20 minutes and got my blood moving – barely.

All the discussion on the HIAH forum about Face Pulls made me focus on getting in a shoulder workout.  One that would support my rotator cuffs and related areas.  I found one in an MH publication and did it this morning.  Light Weights – 12 reps – 2 sets.

  • Dumbbell Shoulder Press
  • Dumbbell Front Raise
  • Cable Bent Over Reverse Flys
  • Dumbbell Cuban Press:  This was the only move I have never done.  It is a 2nd cousin twice removed from the Face Pulls.

None of these were hard – at least at the weights I started with – just need to get the form nailed down.

In the HIAH Forum discussion, TommyLandNYC stated: 

“It’s interesting but when I try and think of moving my shoulders in ways that external rotation exercises do, in day-to-day life I can’t. Ok it’s not that interesting, but I have heard of a lot of people lately who need surgery or some kind of medical procedure for their rotator cuffs- typically they are all over 55.”

Last night, as I was teaching and gesticulating,  I realized my arms were up in the air and in the spot that was the final position of the Face Pulls.  Made a mental note to bring thing this to Tommy’s attention.  Yeah – I am one of those guys that talks with his hands.  My 12th grade English teacher – who did not like me – made me keep my hands in my pocket when I spoke in her class.   Not a nice lady – by any stretch of the imagination.
 
Now to develop a series of shoulder workouts to pair with my Cardio.  Been looking for a better structure for this spot – now I’ve found it.
