I forgot to turn off the alarm clock when we went to sleep last night.  The snow was coming down and there was no question that I would not get to the gym this morning.  The alarm went off at 5:15, I quickly shut it down and apologized to my wife.  I then checked the window – Hell – I could get out and head for the Gym.

Got moving quickly – especially since I did not lay my stuff out – or prepare for this morning.  I only had my pre-workout whey protein and carbs, so I increased the protein. 

I eventually opened the Garage door on my wife’s side.  Her car is AWD – see – I am not stupid.  I did have to spend a few minutes shovelling away the area by the door that the Plow Guy can’t get.  Considered that as a warm up to my workout.  Drove out slowly and continued to drive slowly and cautiously.  Why do some idiots ignore safety while driving in snow and ice – especially as they enter a high speed highway.

Got to the gym a bit later than usual, about 6:10.  I was the 3rd person through the door, not counting the one staff guy who made it in.  Had a good workout.  Didn’t have to wait even a second for a station, nor listen to a bunch of BS between people who enjoy talking more than working out.   Completed HIAH Get Strong Phase 2, Workout C.  Three weeks down – one to go.  Left at 7:15.  There were only 8 of us when I left – and then there where 7.

By the time I drove home, the roads were much better.  Our street had been plowed and the plow piled up more snow at the foot of my driveway.  I pulled into the garage and got busy shovelling.  Cleared the walkway and the area in front of the other garage door.  Widened other areas and got some piles out-of-the-way.  The temp was going to be above freezing with some sun.  That means I had to have some black top showing or I would have ice covering my driveway when I got home.

As I shoveled, I realized that this was really a great Full Body Workout.  Of course you had to switch hands and the rotation of your body – but your always need to do that.  Rest periods between sets – important.  In this morning’s 52DC Forum, TJAK stated that “Shovelling is 10-12 calories per minute.”  I don’t doubt his statement.  I believe he wears one of those monitors that tells you everything that is happening as you exercise. 

Worked for about an 50-60 minutes.  That gives me a double RT for today.  Yippee.

