I really love St. Paddy’s Day, but not for the reasons you may think.   I attended a Catholic University for Graduate school.  I was married and commuting from the suburbs close to an hour and a half each way – every day into the CITY.  This for a farm boy who had never ridden a train, bus or subway before.

While sitting in class one endlessly boring day, a teacher made reference to not seeing us for a couple of days.  Huh! What is he talking about?  This school – which had a significant Irish background – was closed for St. Patrick’s Day.  Surprise – hallelujah!  I got to sleep late.  My wife, who was then working as an elementary school teacher, had to go to work.  No Guilt.

Where I live, there is a significant Irish population and we have one of the biggest parades outside of NYC.  Always fun.

For me, it is a normal workday.  

I went to the gym early this morning as usual.  Did my Cardio and then took out my list of exercises for the Insane 15,000.  Left it home.  Reconstructed the workout from memory and started in doing the Circuit.   Chin-ups, Hanging Leg Raises, Dips, and Cuban Presses.  Did 50 reps of Chin-ups 10 sets of 5 and 3 sets of 20 for each of the others.  Wore myself out.  Shoulders and upper back are really tired. Got home and realized that I had failed to do the Single Arm Dumbbell Swings. 

This Insane 15,000 is really overwhelming. I will not be able to do this full round paired with Cardio. I may have to re-jigger things and spread some of these around. Two days down and I am hurting. Thank goodness tomorrow is my normal day off.  Only 50 days left – and I owe this torture all to Capt DHD – I will forever be in his debt.  Censored

I had my coffee whey protein mix before I left for the gym.  I packed the 2nd whey protein – dry and ready to be mixed.  I thought I would skip the 2nd – just to limit my intake – since I am trying to shed a couple of pounds.  After that workout – I mixed it and drank it down.

Back to the Wear’n O’ the Green.  By the coffee station are the following:  Green Bagels, a box of green sugar cookies shaped like four leaf clovers,   a loaf of Irish Soda Bread, a container of whipped cream cheese and a container of sweet butter.  OUCH.

With a little bit of luck – we will go out for dinner and have Corned Beef and Cabbage, hold the potatoes – extra cabbage please.

