The Summer 2011, 52 Day Challenge is almost over.  Tomorrow is the last day to workout and eat clean.  Since Friday is my day off from working out, except for continuing to eat clean for the next day and a half, I completed this Challenge with this morning’s Cardio workout.    Here are my original Goals and my Final numbers.   I have added some commentary next to each item.

Clean Eats: 96/104 (actual 101Although I am at a point where the TNT program allows me to have an indulgent dinner, day or weekend, I still feel a bit guilty.  TNT Plans C, D & E provide a greater amount of leeway.  I need to learn to relax and enjoy the benefits of eating the TNT way.

Resistance Training: 20 (actual 21BBOE Design It Yourself Phase 2 workouts.

Cardio Training: 20 workouts (actual 21I did 20 minutes on the Treadmill followed by items 3-7 of the 3600 Challenge done in a circuit format.  Doing them as a circuit with limited rest between exercises, acted as an auxiliary to the treadmill.  All in all, a good if not traditional Cardio workout.

PG1: 40-4-40: 40 workouts of no less than 40 minutes each.  This was not a problem since all my workouts are at the very least 40 minutes.  Most are closer to 60 minutes.  (actual 22)

PG2: 3600 Challenge (These are in addition to my basic workout.)  (actual 5,145)

  1. Swiss Ball Crunches: 500/1150 I limited myself to 50 or so as a warm-up rather than just doing 100 or more at a time.
  2. Push-Ups: 600/880 I limited myself to 50 as a warm-up.
  3. Chin-ups: 500/545 I focused on form rather than volume.  So many guys do very limited range of motion chin-ups.
  4. DB Single Arm Swings: 500/ 860 I got this up to a 20 pound dumbbell and focused on the up swing and standing.
  5. Hanging Leg Raises: 500/ 580  I can do 15 to 20 hanging from the straps.
  6. Dips: 500/ 580 I can do 15 to 20 so I need to bring back my dip belt.
  7. Cuban Presses: 500/ 550 It has taken a long time but I am up to 10 pounds x 15 reps.  Tough but worth it.

BBOE Design It Yourself – Phase 2

Warm Up: Swiss Ball Crunches and Decline Push-ups

  • Incline Reverse Crunch (p 323)  No problem here.  Modified it to have my feet aim for the ceiling – less boring.
  • Barbell Dead Lift (p 248) I am happy with my progress.  Although I am only at 130 pounds – bar included – my form is great and getting better.  I should be able to bring this up to 150.
  • EZ-Bar Pullover (p 106)  Got this up to 55 pounds.  With your arms straight, it is harder than you would think .
  • Single-Leg Bench Get-up (p 196) Progressed from a high bench with a support next to me to a lower bench and no support.  Pretty happy with my progress.  I look less silly.
  • Lat Pull Down (p 102) shoulder width palms forward.  Finished at 150 pounds for 5 reps.
  • Plank – 1 min hold (p 278)  Focused on holding my body tight for one minute x 5 reps. 
  • Single-Leg DB Straight Leg Dead Lift (p 257)  My form / balance stinks. 
  • Rear Lateral Raise (p 83) Switched from cables to dumbbells – smart move – harder than I thought.
  • Dumbbell Squat (p 203)  Got this up to 35 pound dumbbells x 10 reps.  My grip is the only limitation.
  • Barbell Bench Press (p 46) This is one of the “Guy” exercise which defines you in the gym.  Now doing 130 pounds.  I have yet to push myself for a personal record – mainly because I do not work with a spotter.
  • Standing Wood Chop (p 307)  Boring – do it because I believe it is good for me – who knows?
  • Barbell Squat (p 198)  I do not know why I can not do a full squat at the same or lighter weight – when I am doing a full squat for a Dead Lift or dumbbell squat.
  • T-Push-up (p 41)  This one just SUCKS – BIG TIME and I am not sure it is worth the effort.
  • Swiss Ball Hip Raise and Leg Curl (p 243) Another one that is harder than it looks and the guys view it as a girly exercise. 
  • Barbell Shoulder Press (p 116)  I am so bad at this.  Why is pressing something over my head, my weakest area?

I am pretty happy with the results of this Challenge.  Two more workouts will complete my 4 week cycle.  My only problem, instead of flipping the page in some guy’s workout manual, I must now take the time to design my next workout.  An interesting process.  Stay tuned.

