Heavy rains all up and down the east coast this morning.  Made it to the gym – a New York Sports Club.  Got in a CT (Cardio Workout.)  Have to keep up with my 52DC goals.  For me – a Cardio workout is not an hour of High Intensity or Low Intensity Steady State.  For me – it is 20 minutes of either intervals or steady state followed by another 20 minutes of circuit training.  My circuit is a series of 5 exercises.

  • Chin/Pull-ups:  I have been limiting myself to shoulder width Chin-ups due to my left rotator cuff.  Now – starting to mix in alternating sets of shoulder width pull ups.  Wide Grip – may never happen – who knows.
  • Single Arm Dumbbell Swings: Bumped this up to 25 pounds.  Next step is kettlebells. 
  • Hanging Leg Raises: Increased this from 10 to 15 reps.
  • Dips: Increased this from 10 to 15.  I am going to have to start wearing a dip belt with added weights.
  • Cuban Presses: Increase this from 10 to 12.5 pounds and stayed with 10 reps.  This is an important pre/re-hab exercise.

The New – NYSC:

Finally, they opened the front doors of the new NYSC.  They don’t yet have a Certificate of Occupancy and are still doing some construction.  You can only step in as far as the front counter and the adjacent areas.  The rest you see by way of pictures.  Here’s my take:

  • I would save 8+ miles of travel a day.  At $4.00 a gallon of gas – that is a big deal.
  • It has a lap swimming pool – I would love that.
  • The locker room facilities are NICE – real NICE with towel service.
  • BUT
  • The free weight area is half to a third the size of my present club.  There is no redundancy of equipment:  only one cable station, one squat rack, one smith machine, one set of each dumbbells and a limited number and types of benches.  They will not get more equipment until their membership increases.  WTF – their membership is not going to increase without the equipment
  • There are lots and lots of cardio machines – which I do not use.
  • There are nice “class’ spaces –  which I do not use
  • There is very little floor exercise space – which I use.
  • AND
  • The topper – it will cost 2.5 times as much as I am paying – why – well – they are not going to have senior membership until their numbers increase.

My worry – the present site has about two years to run on its lease.  It does have an option to renew – but – with this new fancy facility, will it renew its lease.  Stay tuned.

