Got to the gym a couple of minutes before it opened.  All the regulars were milling around waiting for the doors to open – and they did.   Everyone rushed to their assigned workout with the focus that you don’t see later in the day.

This morning was DIY Phase 4 Workout C: 20 Rep Max, 5 rep sets.  This was the first time that I did this one and I have now done a complete run through of Phase 4.  I have posted the full workout and log as a more permanent Page.  Check it out. 

Here is this morning’s workout.  Yes – I warmed up with 50 Swiss Ball Crunches and 50 Decline Push-ups.  I think I have been calling these incline when they should be decline – since my feet are on a bench.  Ah Well.

  • 1 Core – Ch 10 Incline Reverse Crunch (p 323) 10 rep sets.  The bench slants down to the floor.  I raise my feet to the ceiling.   The BBOE shows a guy holding a weight between his feet while he does this.  No thank you – with my luck – I would lose control and have the weight break my nose – or worse.
  • 2A Quadriceps – Ch 8 Barbell Squat (p 198)  My focus – the depth of my squat – which is never as good as it could be.
  • 2B Chest – Ch 4 Barbell Bench Press (p 46) Back to basics on this one. 
  • 3A Glutes & Hamstrings – Ch 9 Weighted Back Extension (p 258)  This was a first.  Used a 25 pound plate – could probably do it with a 45.
  • 3B Shoulders – Ch 6 Barbell Press (p 116)  Why is this so damnably hard for me.  I have never been able to do any significant weight – frustrating.

Today was the 10th anniversary of 9/11.  A sad day.  More than one guy wore the colors of the flag or the flag as part of their clothing.  During the Vietnam War – they would have been arrested for desecrating the flag.  The times they are a-changin’.

