This morning was the first run through of my DIY Phase 5 – Workout B: 25 Rep Max – 15 reps per set.

  • Roll Out: 15, 10  These were done alternating with the Single Leg Decline Push-ups.
  • Incline Dumbbell Bench Press: 35s – 15, 10  I should be able to move this one up to 40s
  • Trap Barbell Squat: No idea of the weight of the bar.  Put on two 35s and did 15, 10
  • Cable Face Pull with External Rotation: Trying to get the right weight that actually challenges was a challenge.
  • Barbell Straight Leg Dead Lift with Row:  First time I have done these – maybe ever.  A lighter bar was already set with a total of 30 lbs.  I used it.  It turned out to be the right weight – for the row – which is the limiting factor.  I want to get this up to 25 pound plates.

Interesting – some of these weights were my heavy weights for low rep exercises not that long ago.

I am very cautious on moving my weights up.  No – I do not believe that a guy my age should only do really light weights and higher reps as so many of my contemporaries assert.  I have no desire to injure myself especially in the rotator cuff area.  It has taken me a long time to go from 2.5 pound dumbbells to 15s while doing the Cuban Presses.  But focusing on upper back and shoulder exercises as well as form and focused effort have allowed me to move forward.  I am starting to do Pull-ups which had previously stressed that area.  I am limiting myself to doing them at shoulder width – not wide grip.  Caution rules the day.  Yesterday, I did 3 sets of 5.  I will keep it at 5 and just increase the number of sets.

Caution has brought me to some pretty respectable weights and abilities – so – no complaints.

