Got in an RT this morning.  Workout C of DIY Phase 5.  This completes 4 weeks on this program.  Now I have to determine if I want to continue for another week or shake things up.  My next workout is Saturday, so I have a couple of days to decide. 

After my workout, I had a business breakfast meeting.  One of the guys who is getting married this weekend, asked my thoughts on Testosterone supplementation and any other “stuff” I might be taking that would help with muscle development.  He is 41.  I told him that I would not take Testosterone, since there is a possibility that it could increase the likelihood of prostate cancer.  I do take DHEA, which is a precursor and may be doing me some damage or I just may be wasting my money – who knows.

The NYSC where I workout, has these computer controlled screens that post advertisements mixed in with “Fit Bits.”  Short pieces of diet and exercise information.  This morning the sign said “Men lose 1/2 a pound of muscle mass every year after age 25.”  I don’t know the truth of that statement other than knowing that Sarcopenia – age related muscle loss – exists.  One article stated that there is a 0.5-1% muscle loss per year after the age of 25.  The rate of muscle loss increases with age – especially after 40.  Every article also states that this loss may be attenuated by exercise – the most effective being resistance training – and for so long as you keep training.

In Greek and Roman mythology Sisyphus was a king punished by being compelled to roll an immense boulder up a hill, only to watch it roll back down, and to repeat this throughout eternity.

It occurred to me, that I am Sisyphus – compelled to lift immense weights only to repeat this act throughout my eternity.

