“Writing a book Blog is an adventure. To begin with it is a toy and an amusement. Then it becomes a mistress, then it becomes a master, then it becomes a tyrant. The last phase is that just as you are about to be reconciled to your servitude, you kill the monster and fling him to the public.” Winston S. Churchill

I came across this quote in a Spam Comment which I just deleted.  Great Quote – kinda sums up how this Blog has taken over my life.  Still – I prefer to think of it as my mistress rather than my master – but – there are times…………………..

This morning’s RT was DIY Workout B: 30 Rep Max – 15 Rep Sets:

I started with 50 Swiss Ball Crunches and 50 Decline Push-ups as my warm up.  I then moved onto the main component of the workout.

  • 1 Core: Mountain Climber BOSU 3×30 seconds
  • 2A Quadriceps: Barbell Squat – Did this with 20 pounds on the Bar.  Will boost it to 30-50 next time.
  • 2B Chest: Incline Dumbbell Bench Press – 25 pound DBs x 15 as a warm up set, then 40 x 15 and 45 x 15
  • 3A Glutes & Hamstrings: Weighted Back Extension – carrying the 45 pound plate across the gym to do this one has the added benefit of doing a Farmer Carry.
  • 3B Shoulders: Alternating Standing Dumbbell Shoulder Press – Did this one with 15 pound DBs and quick movement. 15 with each arm in a pumping motion.   The shoulders felt it. 

I was meeting a business associate for breakfast after the workout, so I brought my clothing and toiletries to the gym rather than going home.  Checked the clock – I still had time.  Time to really try out a Farmer’s Carry.  Grabbed a 45 pound plate in each hand and started walking around the gym.  I was aiming for 100 paces which is roughly 100 yard carry.  The first time around was an experiment.  The second time around, I focused on keeping my body erect and my core tight.  This is really an exercise and more beneficial than it appears.

Still had some time, so I knocked out 20 chin-ups.

Treated myself to a sauna.  Did not rush the morning – still ended up at the restaurant a solid 20+ minutes early.  Sat in the car and took a quick semi-nap. 

Ordered two eggs over light with bacon.  No potatoes.  No Toast.  Added a couple of slices of tomato instead.  Cream with my coffee.  Great morning and it was not even 9am.

