Today, Friday, December 9, 2011, is the last day of the Classic 52DC.  Assuming I do not blow a Clean Eat this evening, here are my Final Numbers along with my comments.  

Clean Eats: 102/104/96 (106.25%)  This is being generous.  I followed my eating program but probably ate larger portions than I should have.  I am using the excuse that since I was going for high weights, I needed the nutrition.  Yeah – right.

Resistance Training: 22/20 (110%) This area makes me happy.  Below is a review of my progress over the last 4 weeks.  The biggest achievement from a strength POV is the PR on the Dead Lift – 215 pounds.  I warm up for each RT day with 50 Swiss Ball Crunches and 50 Decline Push-ups.  Literally – these are warm ups and not designed to push the envelope.

Cardio Training: 21/20 (105%)  I did not push myself.  20 minutes 3 x week on the treadmill was all that was going to happen.  I hate Cardio – but a guy’s gotta do what a guy’s gotta do.  Cardio is paired with circuits of the last 5 exercises listed on the 3600 Challenge.

Personal Goal 1: 40-4-40: 43/40 (107.5%)  This was really not a hard push since each of my workouts is no less than 40 minutes.  However, once I hit all my 3600 goals I could have done 20 minute CT workouts and called it a day.  I didn’t.  I just kept on keep’n on.

Personal Goal 2: 3600 Challenge: 4975/3600: (138.2%)

Swiss Ball Crunches: 1100/800 (137.5%) 50 Crunches x 42 RT workouts.

Decline Push-ups: 1100/800 (137.5%) 50 Push-ups x 42 RT workouts.  I usually got 25-35 on the first set.  I could push for all 50 at once but this is designed as a warm up, not as a strength building time.

Chin/Pull-ups: 500/400 (125%)  I do these in sets of 5 as part of a circuit with the next 5 exercises.  I have started to mix in Pull-ups.

DB Single Arm Swings: 720/400 (180%) Increased the weight to 30 pounds.   This will wind you.

Hanging Leg Raises: 615/400 (153.75%) I do these with an initial set of 20 followed by a set of 15 or 20.

Weighted Dips: 460/400 (115%) Doing these with a 45 pound weight hanging off a Dip Belt.  This is tough.

Cuban Presses: 480/400 (120%)  I managed to get this up to 20 pound dumbbells.  Not going to push since it is designed as rehabilitation on my rotator cuff and not as a challenge to it.

My Resistance Training workouts for this Challenge were my Design It Yourself Phase 5 and Phase 6.  Each were done for 4 weeks.  I have been discussing these in prior Posts, but I want to focus on some of the highlights of Phase 6, which was the last 4 weeks.

WORKOUT A: 20 Rep Max – 5 Rep Sets

  • Planks: 30 sec hold x 3
  • Barbell Bench Press: Got this up to 155 pounds.  I am not pushing this too fast since I do not work with a spotter.
  • Trap Barbell Squat: I am pushing the weight up on this and got it to 160 plus the bar which is an unknown.
  • Cable Face Pull with External Rotation: I am pretty much frozen at 110 pounds since I need to counter balance the weight stack with my body weight and still do the exercise.
  • DB Single Leg – Straight Leg Dead Lift: Some exercises you do because you already know you suck at them.  Get’n better – slowly.

WORKOUT B: 30 Rep Max – 15 Rep Sets

  • Mountain Climber BOSU: 3×30 seconds – strangely – I like these.
  • Barbell Squat: lighter weight allows me to focus on the depth of the squat – my weakness
  • Incline Dumbbell Bench Press: I am stuck at 45 pounds.  This WILL change.  I believe that I am afraid of the 50 pound weights after smashing my finger between two of them.
  • Weighted Back Extension: Doing these with a 45 pound weight is no big deal BUT – I have started to carry two 45 pound plates in a large circle around the gym to the back extension station.  Sneaking in two sets of a Farmer’s Carry.
  • Alternating Standing Dumbbell Shoulder Press: I somewhat like these – at least with 20 pound DBs

WORKOUT C: 25 Rep Max – 10 Rep Sets

  • Cable Push-Pull: A variation on an old friend.  They are worth doing.
  • Barbell Dead Lift : Doing these at 155 pounds and focusing on form.
  • Seated Cable Row: Moved this up to 160.
  • Single-Leg Body Squat: Moved a platform over to the railing.  It is working well.
  • E-Z Bar Pull Over: At 65 pounds – could probably up the weight.

Overall this was a nice consistent Challenge.  No big interruptions.  I was able to focus on strength.  I will probably continue most of this workout through the break.  Next Challenge starts on January 4th.  Great.

