Although I did Workout A, the Heavy One, yesterday, I decided to do Workout B this morning.  Yes – I know – doing two workouts back to back – especially when one is a Heavy One – is not the best practice.  But, I figured that they were different enough that I could get away with it.  And I did.

WORKOUT B: 25 Rep Max – 10 Reps per set

  • Mountain Climber: This is a continuation from Phase 6.  I am getting better at keeping my body tight and balancing on the BOSU platform.
  • Goblet Squat: This is the first time I’ve done these, so finding the right weight is still a work-in-progress.  My ability to do a deep squat – sucks – and that will be the focus.  I would like to find my old gym teacher’s grave and piss on it for the damage he inflicted on my knees.  I really should get past this – but – damn – I can’t.
  • Standing Cable Fly: Following the suggestion in the BBOE, I set the cables to the high point and kept my elbows only slightly bent.  I believe that I hit the right weight as a starting point.  I need to realize that I am not attempting to mimic the motions of a push-up.
  • Swiss-Ball Hip Raise & Leg Curl:  I threw this in as an “easy” one. Ha! Not so.  Curling the Swiss-Ball towards my body caught some muscles off guard and they screamed at me.*  Getting my body to lift itself in the air and form a relatively straight line – laughable.
  • Alternating Standing Dumbbell Shoulder Press: This is also a continuation from the last phase but with lower reps.  I up the weight from 20 to 25 pounds.  Felt it – but I believe I can handle 30 pounds – we’ll see next workout.

All in all, I believe this was a pretty good workout which covered a number of different areas – balanced in its approach.  If you are hitting muscles that you haven’t been effectively working, then you are doing the right thing.  Now – where is that foam roller?

I limited myself to Protein only shakes for both of these workouts.  I did not see any significant difference than when I have carbs with the shake.  Plan A – all the way!

*ETA:  “If your hamstrings cramp when you perform the hip raise, it’s often a sign that your glutes are weak.  That’s because your hamstrings are having to work extra hard to keep your hips raised.” BBOE page 237.

