I got my copy of The Art and Science of Low Carbohydrate Living: An Expert Guide to Making the Life-Saving Benefits of Carbohydrate Restriction Sustainable and Enjoyable by Jeff Volek, PhD, RD and Stephen Phinney, MD, PhD., and have been plowing through it over the holiday weekend as time allowed.  My initial thoughts – this is a must have book for anyone who wants to know “Why” and who wants to be able to respond intelligently to the Nay Sayers.

I have already picked up interesting tidbits and have updated some of this Blog’s “Pages.”  I will mention things as I can, but it is my intention to create a Page of the things I have learned.  Until then –

SALT: Who knew that once your body has switched over to using dietary fats as its main fuel source and you significantly limit the amount of carbs ingested, that your body excretes salt at a higher rate?  Low Carb diets are natriuretic.  Eating low carb makes the kidneys dump sodium.  Pair that with no longer eating all the added salt in processed carbs, and you end up with the need to add salt to your diet.  That’s right – one to two grams – especially on the days you work out.  Otherwise, you will feel tired and weak.  As I said – who knew?

Bluntly, one thing I have been looking for is a divergence from the TNT Diet which Volek wrote with Campbell.  So far, nothing substantial, just enhancements and greater depth in the science of Low Carb eating.  The books have two different purposes.  The TNT book is focused on integrating Low Carb eating with exercise.  Volek’s exploration of exercise and protein can be found on the web in his other papers and research projects.  This book is focused on the science and nutrition of Low Carb living.  The two books are also aimed at different audiences – that can not be ignored when you compare one to the other.

The book’s only draw back – it tends – in some sections – to be heavier on the science than this non-science guy’s mind can wrap around.  The book’s title warns you.  I am reading it – sitting at a desk with a yellow highlighter in hand – that says it all.

ETA: I finished reading and have compiled a highlight list which is posted on this Page

