Had my annual physical this morning – or at least I got to the Doctor’s office in the morning.  Spent 1.5 hours waiting to be called – it actually became an afternoon appointment.

I hate my annual physical – especially since he has moved it up to every 6 months – not because I’m ill or in disrepair but because I am “at that age.”  It also points out in bright blaring sounds and colors the damage I have done to my body over a lifetime of abuse.

About a year or so ago the Spirometry Test was not “perfect.”  It was just bad enough to tag for follow-up.

Spirometry (meaning the measuring of breath) is the most common of the pulmonary function tests (PFTs), measuring lung function, specifically the measurement of the amount (volume) and/or speed (flow) of air that can be inhaled and exhaled. Spirometry is an important tool used for generating pneumotachographs which are helpful in assessing conditions such as asthma, pulmonary fibrosis, cystic fibrosis, and COPD.

The new piece of testing equipment is all digital.  She told me to inhale deeply and blow into the machine as fast and as forcibly as I could.  Then – once my lungs are empty – inhale deeply.  I went to stand up to do this and was advised to stay seated since she has had people get dizzy.  In a seated position, your lungs are compressed and there will not be an accurate measure.  I stood.  Did the test twice.  She then had to plug it into a computer and get a print out.  She would not tell me the results.

I am concerned about this test.  My younger brother has significant COPD – he smoked until hospitalized 4 years ago at 60.  At that time he had 29% use of his lungs.  today – if he is not sick – he has 50%.  My older brother has less severe COPD and uses an inhaler.  He stopped smoking somewhere in his early 50s.  I stopped smoking – 2 packs a day – when I was 23-24.  Went cold turkey and survived while losing weight.  As the Doc said – I was  also exposed to a lot of second-hand smoke.  No question. 

Happily the test came back normal – full lung capacity and function.

My blood work is great.

I have to go for my every 5 year colonoscopy since it is now 6 years.  Crack all the jokes you want – all I care about is that I am out cold for the procedure.  The worst part of the entire process is emptying your bowls prior to it.  Gotta be clean as a whistle.   ETA: scheduled for the 3rd week of February.

And – I am scheduled for an Echo Cardiogram to get a better picture of my aging heart.  ETA: scheduled for the 2nd week of February.

He is still not happy about me being on a Ketogenic Diet, but has to acknowledge its impact on my blood work.  Nay sayed the need to add salt.  Not sure he understands just how little salt I ingest and the full impact of eating less than 50 grams of Carbs most days.  You can’t find the salt shaker in my home. 

And – he is not happy about the amount and type of exercise.  Tuff.

Of course – he is substantially overweight.

