The Jan/Feb issue of Men’s Health on page 20, cites a recent study which tracked people over an 11 year period and determined that the best predictor of cardiovascular disease is your non-HDL cholesterol.  This is your Total Cholesterol minus your HDL.  The resultant figure represents not only your LDL but the “more esoteric artery-clogging particles, such as VLDL and Lp(a).  … To stay in the safe zone, aim for a non-HDL level of 130 or less.”

Naturally, I immediately calculated my numbers and will now build this formula into my Chart.  Here are my non-HDL levels for the past 6 years.

  • 10/05…………..177 [pre-low carb eating/weight loss/exercise]
  • 07/07…………..112
  • 02/08…………..101
  • 04/08……………78
  • 03/10……………91
  • 11/10…………..129
  • 11/11…………..103

The fact that the numbers are all over the place – even though my eating is relatively the same – drives me nuts.  Yes, I know – it is only a snap shot of that moment in time.

I really should not bitch and moan.  From 4 months into adopting a Low Carb (ketogenic) eating regime, starting to lose weight and exercising, my numbers have all been well within the “safe zone.”  Now – I just have to stay the course.

 

