This morning was a Burpee morning.  Yes – I’ve told you before, I do them as Count Downs. 5 Chin-ups followed by 10 Squat Thrusts with push-up then 5 chin ups followed by 9 squat thrusts with push-ups, then 5 chin-ups followed by 8 – blah blah blah – you get the picture.  I have been doing this for a CT since the start of the Spring 52 DC.  Three times a week for the last 37 days.  It works out to 60 Squat thrusts and 50 Chin-ups along with a lot of sweat.

This morning something happened.  Not sure what – maybe a good night’s sleep.  My first set of Chin-ups – which I usually struggle to get out the set of 5 – turned into a set of 10.  Then 8, 8, 8, 8, 8 then 4 sets of 5 each – yep – do the math – 70.

A number of years ago, I got into a side bet with a guy by the screen name of Skycabin.  We challenged each other to do 1,000 push-ups during the 52 days of the Challenge.  Neither one of us understood just how crazy the two of us were/are.  He beat me with some 6,000 push-ups – I hit – maybe 5,990 – should have counted better – would have beat the sheeet out of him.

When I was finished, some strange things had happened.  I was able to do unassisted Dips – for the first time in my life.  Not just one but multiple sets of 10.  I now do them with a 35-45 pound weight hanging off my waist.

I also managed to do a century – 100 push-ups in a row.   Today, I do decline push-ups with my feet on a bench – no problem.

Back to the Chin-ups.  50 per day times 3 days per week for the past 5 weeks.  No surprise that I could move that up to 70.

Every meat head has a different definition of High Volume Workout.  Just ask Arnold – the King of High Volume Workouts.  For me – well – for me it means:

The More You Do – the More You Can Do.

