The multitude of whey protein powders on the market are aimed at the Body Builders or Body Builders Wannabes.  I fall into the latter group.

My goal in locating one to use – for the last 4.5 years – has been guided by these simple rules:

  • Carbs: =< 3 grams per serving
  • Fat: < 2 grams per serving
  • Whey protein
  • Dissolves and mixes in water using a spoon
  • Lactose free

Reading a multitude of stuff and guided by a Personal Trainer I used in the beginning – I made sure that there were BCAAs etc.

The TNT book recommended a brand that was not available in local stores.  It also recommended Creatine and Beta Alanine. 

I ended up settling on Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Whey.  It was available at GNC down the block from my office.  And it tasted OK

I also followed Plan B and added fast acting Carbs to my protein powder.

I had excellent results – both in weight loss and conditioning.

For what ever reason, I slowly migrated to protein only shakes and only pre-workout.  I was just ingesting too much protein.  This settled down to my pattern for the last 6-12 months.

Then I read Volek & Phinney’s new books and learned that:

Alanine: Exercise increases ketone production which will be “attenuated if carbohydrate is consumed after exercise, and completely blunted if high amounts of the amino acid alanine are ingested.  The anti-ketogenic nature of alanine ….”

My Whey powder has 1180 mg of Alanine as an added component.

This morning I started using Isopure.  It makes no mention of Alanine but does have BCAAs.  I am going to have to do more research on its actual breakdown since the container has a limited amount of specificity – and – so does its Web Site.

There is so much hype out there – and not enough hard information. 

My brain hurts.

