Eating VLC is really a different world.  The rules of the game are just backwards.  We’ve often said that starting a Low Carb Diet requires a person to do a “180” in their thinking.  What they’ve learned and lived by for the past 30-40 years – and for that matter – what they read and see in the popular word of the day – just “ain’t necessarily so.”

I’d like to have more faith in human logic
Basin’ all the rules on the proof that you can show
But I can’t take my guesses back that I based on all those facts
That ain’t necessarily so!
lyrics by Willie Nelson

I’m preachin’ dis sermon to show,
It ain’t nece-ain’t nece
Ain’t nece-ain’t nece
Ain’t necessarily … so!
lyrics by George Gershwin 

I have spent the better part of my life depending upon the findings and proclamations of the experts being Truth – with a capital “T”.  Over the years, I have learned to be a Cynic – with a capital “C”.  I have learned to distrust – or at least question – the motives of those experts who truly wish that we “Pay no attention to that man behind the curtain.” *

This aspect of my personality comes out loud and clear in this Blog.   Friends have suggested that I start making money from this Blog by taking on advertisements.  In this economy – it is tempting.  But – those advertisers would be “that man behind the curtain.”  Not gonna happen.

With that lengthy prelude behind me, here is a short list of the 180 degree concepts.  Let me know if you have a favorite that I should add.

  • The consumption of carbs to fuel exercise works against the burning of fat, which so many of us see as the goal of exercising.  That consumption can impede fat burning for days.
  • Your body stores only 2000 or so calories of carbohydrates as glycogen.
  • Your brain is not carb dependent – it also is fueled by ketones.
  • You don’t need carbs to do resistance training – Sorry Dan (my former PT).
  • Carbohydrates are not an essential food group.
  • If you want to burn off dietary fats you have to eat at or below 50 grams of carbs per day.
  • The range of effective Protein for a person that actually exercises is between .6 and 1.0 gram per pound of lean body mass.  More than that is a waste. 
  • More than half of the amino acids in protein are converted to glucose.  Eating too much protein is similar to eating too many carbs.
  • You want between 65 and 85% of your caloric intake to come from dietary fats – not 30%.
  • You want to eat a limited amount of polyunsaturated fats – especially from corn, soy and safflower vegetable oils and eat more monounsaturated and saturated fats.
  • Even though I love walnuts – they are way too high in polyunsaturated fat for me to make them my only choice.
  • I actually have to increase my intake of sodium – just how crazy is that.
  • The addition of the amino acid alanine in my whey protein shake undermines my Low Carb eating and the positive aspects of exercise even more than carbs.
  • Coconut Oil is not just for the health nuts.
  • There is no need to Carb up to run a marathon – if and only if – you are fully adapted to the Very Low Carb lifestyle.
  • Eating in this insane manner will only improve your cholesterol and triglyceride numbers.

Run Rabbit Run.

*ETA:  I have just learned that Dr. Volek is now on the Advisory Board of UCAN the super starch he writes about in his recent book. Here is the Link to him touting the product.

