Eating Low Carb does not mean that you should never enjoy Carb Laden meal and none is more traditional than Thanksgiving Dinner.   No matter how you structure it, if there are others at your table, you need to make a meal for everyone. 

To quote my 52DC bud, Capt DHD:  “Don’t over think the celebration, we only have so many left even if we are to live to be 100!

Our Menu:

  • Wine
  • Mushroom Caps stuffed with Goat Cheese and topped with Candied Cranberries.  My son made this. Really good.
  • Pumpkin Soup – This is relatively Plan A OK and I will post the recipe.
  • Turkey – Can’t go wrong here.
  • Stuffing: Corn Bread, Apple and Sausage.  My son made this.
  • Gravy with Mushroom and Onion and just a bit of flour.
  • The rest of the Candied Cranberries along with smooth and chunky Cranberry sauce.
  • Sweet Potatoes – Mashed with butter, Coconut Milk and Brown Sugar – way over the top.
  • Broccoli – Fresh
  • Rolls – Pillsbury Crescent Rolls (Allergen Free)
  • Butter
  • Apple Crisp with Ice Cream – My daughter in law made the deserts – fantastic.
  • Chocolate Cake broken up and layered in a large bowl with whipped cream, pudding, Chocolate bits – you name it.

Two of our guests could not join us since their son’s wife was giving birth during dinner.  This left a lot of food for the rest of us.  They stopped by and dropped off a bottle of wine and a Low Carb Ice Cream – 4 net carbs for each 1/2 cup. (Laden with Sugar Alcohols – which give me gas – and it did.)

We all enjoyed.  Yes I did.  I work too hard at controlling my diet all year-long not to relax the rules one day – or maybe a day and a half.

Many years ago my wife and I took a trip to Mystic Seaport and stopped at this little shack of a breakfast place.  The line wrapped around the building.  It was eggs and omelette any way you could imagine.  My wife had Thanksgiving Dinner in an omelette. 

During the last 4 years of dieting, I made sure we had no carb left overs – which meant that every morning after Thanksgiving, my wife and I would have a bit of a to-do.  This time I followed Capt DHD’s advice and saved enough for breakfast – Wonderful.

The joy of TNT is that once you have achieved your weight loss you can switch over to Plan C, D or E which allow you to have a Carb heavy meal or two or three as part of your eating plan.  I rarely do this – but the option is always there.

I am docking myself one Clean Eat for Thanksgiving Dinner, but not for this morning’s breakfast.

BTW: We were at the gym first thing this morning – before breakfast.  Got it a good RT and my wife did 20 minutes on the Cardio machines.  Great start to the day.

 
