Having read Robb Wolf’s take on the Paleo Diet, I wanted to read, The Paleo Diet: Lose Weight and Get Healthy by Eating the Foods You Were Designed to Eat, by Loren Cordain.  I went to the Amazon site and took the 2 minute tour of the book – I was shocked.

I have no problem with him touting the advantages of eating according to his understanding of the way ALL HUMANITY ate 10,000 years ago just before the agricultural revolution.  Why does he have to Diss all other Low Carb diets?  Why must he denigrate others in order to make his program better?  Is he still in Junior High?

I was at Barnes & Noble last evening wasting time until the movie* started.  I grabbed the book and hoped I was over judging it – nope.

  • Call all other low carb diets – Fads.
  • Ignore recent research that clearly shows that dietary cholesterol is not a significant problem in managing blood cholesterol levels.
  • Cite Phinney on research done on a small group for 35 days and ignore his research that 6-8 weeks is necessary to be Keto-adapted.
  • Claim that all low carb diets encourage the eating of unlimited amounts of highly processed meats and cheese.

I could go on – but I can’t – it would require me to buy his book.  Not going to happen.

Instead, I ordered The Ketogenic Diet, by Lyle McDonald.  Once it arrives and I get a chance to digest it – double entendres intended – I will report on it.

*BTW: The Movie was the final installment of the Twilight Saga – Breaking Dawn Part 2.  Enjoyed it.  My wife wants to see it again – maybe – or maybe we will just wait for it to come out on DVD.

