You are the dancing queen, young and sweet, only seventeen
Dancing queen, feel the beat from the tambourine
You can dance, you can jive, having the time of your life
See that girl, watch that scene, diggin’ the dancing queen

The Gym installed a Teacher-less exercise class room.  The control panel has a selection of multiple different classes.  Actually – DVD’s.  Select and play.  They are all the standard type.  From full programs to dancercize classes.

When we exercise, there are no real classes going on.  Every now and then a lady or two or three will be in there.  They actually sent out an email – “Hey Guys – It’s not just for the Ladies.”

My wife was a dancer – loves it.  She has dragged me onto the dance floor for the past 45 years.  Now – well Now is Now.  The last wedding we were at I got her out on the floor and it took time but she got into it.  The book I’m reading about post stroke recovery – Stronger After Stroke –  recommended that recovery activities be ones that really interest the person.  If they were a golfer – make it golf, etc.

So – got her into the room and turned on a “Latin” dance program.  She loved it.  Even though it was difficult for her to move fluidly, I notice that her movements were more natural than when she is walking.

This is just the start.  For me – Put her in the room and I get 20 minutes to pump iron.  We both win.

 

