My SIL will not eat at a restaurant unless it has at least a food rating of 23 from Zagat.  Me – I’ll eat almost anywhere I can order a  clean Low Carb meal.

My daughter was in from California for a rather hectic family week.  With a bit of a reprieve from the pressures facing us, and the last night she would be in town, we decided to go out as a family including my son and his wife – they even got a sitter for the first time – ever.  The place we originally wanted was booked.  We ended up at Velo.  I had read about it but never been there.  It has gotten a Zagat 24 rating for the last couple of years.

Before I left the house, I updated my 52DC numbers – declaring my intent that this would be a lost Clean Eat.

The TNT Diet actually allows this diversion from the straight and narrow under Plans C/D/E.  Me – well – I’ve been eating pretty much Plan A all the way – except when there is a special event.  Even then – I would limit myself to a particular dish – and stay clear of the stray Carbs in the side dishes.

I am a Carb Snob – the Carbs had better be worth it – or I just don’t eat them.  Last night – They were worth it.

We were a bit early, so we had a drink at the bar.  My wife and daughter had super sweet drinks.  My wife’s chocolate martini with a bit of orange liqueur was amazing.  I had a glass of Red Wine a mix of Shiraz with Grenache (Garnacha).  Very nice – since I was driving – one drink was my limit – I nursed it.

I started with the Goat Cheese Tartlet – with Caramelized Onions, Thyme, White Wine Honey Syrup. It was not large – a normal serving – what a shame.

The main course: Pan Seared Sea Scallops – with Quinoa, Wakame Salad, Coconut Thai Broth. Three very large Scallops and about – maybe a cup of Quinoa. Luscious.

Dessert: My wife ordered the Chocolate Brownie with a scoop of ice cream and chocolate sauce. I ordered a Peanut Butter Semifreddo. We cut them in half and shared the joy.  I checked out a recipe for the Peanut Butter Semifreddo – I am going to challenge my wife to make this Low Carb.

Yes – I ate the Bread – smeared with butter.

This morning we got up bright and early and went to the gym.  Did I feel “powered” by the glycogen in my muscles – no.  Not quite sure what that means.  I would like to believe that I am so well adapted to a ketogenic lifestyle that I do not need the glycogen to power my workouts.

We diet and exercise so that we can have a meal like this – every now and then.  No Regrets.

BTW:  My daughter said that this meal would have been almost double the price in San Francisco.  Still not enough of a reason for her to move back east – Oh well.  😦

