Diana Nyad’s Mantra That Drove Her Historic Cuba to Florida Swim
By | ABC News Blogs 

“Diana Nyad used just one word – “euphoric” – to describe how she felt upon reaching the shores of Key West Monday at the end of a 112-mile, record-breaking swim.

But it was three words that Nyad, 64, relied on over the past year, she revealed today on ” Good Morning America,” to conquer a feat – swimming from Cuba to Florida without a shark tank – that had previously eluded any other human being and Nyad herself in her four previous attempts.

“I decided this year to use a mantra … and the phrase I decided to use was ‘Find a way,'” Nyad told “GMA” anchor Robin Roberts.

“If something is important to you and it looks impossible and you’re up against it, just step back for a minute and say, ‘Really? Do I have the resolve to think of everything [to the] nth degree to get through this?’ and most times we do,” she said. “People give up too quickly.”

Naturally I’m thrilled for her. But also – thrilled for me and so many others over the age of 60, who are pushing themselves physically. I started this journey at 63 1/2. In less than a month, I’ll be 69. This morning I dead lifted more than a young – and I do mean young – guy who followed me. 

I’m happy for all the AKs out there doing their thing and Finding a Way.

