On today’s 52DC Forum, one of the Challengers, HoosierBuddy posted the following:

I want to talk about 1 thing that happened yesterday that happens all the time.  We went to a function for our kids and the organizer had decided to serve desserts for the attendees.  So, every family of 3 or 4 people brought an entire pan of some desserts and every kid got a whole plate of brownies, cookies, whipped goo, cake, pie and cobbler and sat there and ate 2000 to 3000 calories per person.  Probably an average of 5 desserts per kid (a lot of the parents did too) during the program.  WTF People???  REALLY?  WTF???

But…I didn’t say a word.  And I ate absolutely nothing.  When we left it gave me a good opportunity to discuss the issue with my kids.  This “culture of eating” has to be moderated somehow.

I’m betting that most of us have been to similar events.  There is never just enough food.  There must be an abundance and we – yes you and me – know no bounds to our gluttony

Recently there was a news item floating around on the various internet news sites concerning childhood obesity.  The statistics are down right scary.

As the old saying goes:  If you are not a part of the solution – you are part of the problem.

Where do you stand?

