I just downloaded to my Kindle the new book: “Grain Brain: The Surprising Truth about Wheat, Carbs, and Sugar–Your Brain’s Silent Killers” by neurologist David Perlmutter, MD.

Why did I buy another book telling me how important Low Carbing is?  The Brain.  I already know that Ketones are an important alternate energy source for the brain, especially the aging brain which supposedly loses its ability to effectively use glycogen.  This book’s thesis: “[C]arbs are destroying your brain. And not just unhealthy carbs, but even healthy ones like whole grains can cause dementia, ADHD, anxiety, chronic headaches, depression…”

Is this a Low Carb book or a Paleo book or both or neither?

I’ve commented previously, that some of the positive effects I’ve experienced living a Ketogenic Lifestyle may well be from the elimination of 80-90% of those foods that the Paleo people say are no good for you.  Paleo is NOT low carb.  It relies heavily on many starchy veggies along with a ton of fruit.  Also, I still eat cheese and other high fat dairy products, albeit not milk.

It will be interesting to see what the author’s take is on these issues.

EDIT: It appears that he is coming down on the side of Very Low Carb, Gluten Free Paleo.  Now – just where does he draw his line in the sand?

