We’ve completed 25% of this Challenge.  13 days down – 39 to go.

Today’s Daily Host is ReaderRaphy.  His post and the Question of the Day follows:

Welcome to Day 14 of the 2014 Winter Challenge!

As you post your numbers today, keep in mind that we are now ¼ of the way through this challenge.  It is an excellent opportunity to assess your progress and make any necessary adjustments.

Quotes: 

1) “In the long run, we shape our lives, and we shape ourselves. The process never ends until we die. And the choices we make are ultimately our own responsibility.”  ― Eleanor Roosevelt

2) “The ascent of Everest was not the work of one day, nor even of those few unforgettable weeks in which we climbed… It is, in fact, a tale of sustained and tenacious endeavor by many, over a long period of time.” – Sir John Hunt

3) “If you want to lose weight, go to a skinny doctor.” – Zig Ziglar

?OTD: (Question of the Day)

Ziglar’s quote above stresses that in  order to be successful, one must learn from somebody who has had success. However, my experience has been that most “skinny doctors” don’t have the personal experience to really understand the actual battle that is weight-loss.

1) Have you ever sought out the advice of a professional (physician, psychologist, nutritionist, personal trainer, weight-loss coach etc.) to help you achieve your healthy lifestyle. Were they helpful?

 2) Who else in your life helps you achieve your healthy lifestyle?

My (His) Numbers:

CE: 23/26/85
RT: 7/25
CT: 4/18
PG1: 5% Challenge: 3.4/12 (1/10: 229.6 , 1/17: 226.2, Goal: 2/28: 217.6)
PG2: PLP: 13/13/52
PG3: 44 Days using Shrinkyourself.com: 9/13/44
PG4: Study 60 hrs.: 7.5/60

AOTD: (His Response:)

1)Professional Help:

My skinny doctors didn’t get it.  They could help me analyze my eating, and recommend exercise, but I have spent my whole life reading about these things, so I didn’t really need them for that.  I needed someone to help me with the emotional parts of weight loss.

I also tried a (heavy) psychologist once and told him that I wanted help because I had a food addiction. He suggested OA, which may have been good advice, but meant that I didn’t really need the psychologist.

The best paid advice that I have received were from a heavy doctor, who told me that weight loss is all about personal responsibility.

I also had one session with a personal trainer who checked my lifting form. It was a great experience, but not something that I can afford regularly.

2)Non-Professional Help

My wife has made my healthy lifestyle possible by taking on more than half of the burden of food preparation.

My father has also been very helpful to me.  We log our weight every now and then, to make sure that we stay on course.  He also bought me the best health tool around, a power rack with a weight set.

It looks like his question struck a chord.  The responses have been varied – long – conflicting in their conclusions – and insightful.  I’m not going to re-post all of the responses.  Take a moment and check out the Answers.

BTW:  It is snowing.  The Northeast coast is getting hammered.  We got in a workout this morning.  The gym already sent out a notice that it would be closing early today and may open late tomorrow.  This is the reason I don’t blow off a workout – there are too many bumps in the road to be Cavalier about just getting it done.

There was a time – when the kids were young and we had a snow day – my wife would bake – bread – mainly – always enjoyable.  Tonight we are going to make Peanut Butter Cookies.  Joy!

Edit: 1-22-14 8:30am:  The cookies were great – hardest part – mixing a large jar of natural peanut butter – messy.  The snow – brutally cold – but no where as much as was predicted.  Really cold this morning.

