My wife has always been a great dancer.  Bluntly, when we get out on the dance floor – she leads – and makes me look good.  That part of our life – came to an abrupt end when she was hit with a stroke and lost the use of her right side.

Over the last 21 months, she has regained much of her right side functioning.  We go to the gym 6 days a week.  She alternates between Cardio days – 20 minutes on the Elliptical and 20 minutes on the Treadmill – and Resistance Training days.  The RT days are split, one day the lower body – the next the upper.  We do many exercises which hopefully increase her balance and functionality.

Still, dancing and fluidity of movement are missing.  She joined a beginner folk dance class at the local Y, but the class disbanded when the teacher got a “real” job.  We have been looking for an alternative.

Our daughter took a Zumba class at her gym and raved about it.  She strongly encouraged her mother to try it.  Unfortunately, she lives 3,000 miles away and can not take her mother to the class.  Our gym has finally implemented a number of live classes – several of which are Zumba. 

Today, she did her regular Cardio workout starting at 6:15am.  We went home and had breakfast.  I encouraged her to go back to the gym and take the 9:30 Zumba class.  She was not enthusiastic.  I left for an early morning meeting.  About 9:45 I called the house.  No answer.  As I drove back to the office, I drove through the gym parking lot, her car was there.  I stopped and spied on her.  She was in the class and doing what she could do.  She did not see me.  Later she stopped by the office and told me how much she liked the class. – GREAT.

It looks like Wednesdays and Fridays are going to be her Zumba days.  We’ll re-work her schedule to replace her Cardio days with Zumba.

Towards the end of March, we have a big family gathering which will include dancing.  I’m hoping that this will do the trick and get us back on the dance floor.  Step by step – the more you do – the more you will be able to do.

