I’ve Got A Lovely Bunch Of Coconuts

Danny Kaye 

Down at an English fair, one evening I was there
When I heard a showman shouting underneath the flair

I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts
There they are, all standing in a row
Big ones, small ones, some as big as your head
Give them a twist a flick of the wrist
That’s what the showman said

I’ve got a lovely bunch of coconuts
Every ball you throw will make me rich
There stands my wife, the idol of me life
Singing roll a bowl a ball a penny a pitch

I remember that song and watching it in an old movie.  Never did I ever think of Coconuts as more than a treat.  My mother would every now and then buy a Coconut and we would have fun attempting to tap the Coconut and then drain and drink the liquid.  Then – we would fight to see who would be able to hit it with a hammer hard enough to crack it open. The meat was always a treat.  My wife and I  re-enacted this scene with our own children.

Never did I think of Coconuts as a health food.  But now – well now – it is a source of nourishment in our home.

We use SO unsweetened Coconut milk as an additive in many recipes.  A large jar of Virgin Organic Coconut oil sits by the stove, ready to use instead of vegetable oils.  We still use butter and olive oil where we want that taste.   Last night we coated chicken with a mixture of finely shredded coconut meat, dried onion flakes and Flax Seed Meal – then roasted it.  Great.

Why? Many reasons.  The easiest answer – it works well on a low carb diet – also on a Gluten Free or Paleo Diet. 

We don’t want to use vegetable oils – with the exception of Canola – in a limited amount.  The whole Omega 6-3 dispute.

For me – it is the MCTs – Medium Chained Triglycerides or Fatty Acids.  MCT’s produce Ketones in the presence of glucose. 

We are following – a Ketogenic Diet (TNT Plan A) which will produce Ketones.  Since Coconut oil and Coconut milk contain a substantial percentage of MCTs – eating these products will produce Ketones – so adding them to a Ketogenic diet enhances ketone production – what could be bad?  Weight Lifters have known this for ages.

Coconut products aid individuals with neurologic problems such as Alzheimer’s.  You do not need to have AD to benefit from Ketones – they are an alternate source of energy for your Brain – and are especially helpful for those (of us) who are aging since your brain loses its ability to utilize glucose efficiently.

Even Big Pharma is getting into the mix.   Axona is a Rx medical food that does the same thing – produces Ketones in the presence of Glucose – at a cost of $100.00 per month – without any – no – not any – insurance coverage.

Still the World according to the Media and their experts – denounce the use of coconut oil and Milk as an unhealthy fad.

Check out this Article:

I am not going to repeat everything stated in this article – it is excellent. Check it out.

Now – go out and buy a lovely bunch of coconuts.

