The last two years have seen a plateauing of my exercise progress.  First was the stroke hitting my wife and my taking on more responsibilities once she came home.  It was more important for me to be her Personal Trainer than to focus on my workout.  Then my son ran into some significant health issues that significantly impacted him and his family and which added more impediments to exercise.  When things finally started to stabilize, I ended up with a helluva bout of Sciatica.

Through all this, I kept on exercising.  Doing what I could do, but some of my hard-fought strength gains have dissipated.  Not surprising, since at my age you have to fight hard against the ever-increasing loss of muscle.  Sarcopenia is the degenerative loss of skeletal muscle mass (0.5-1% loss per year after the age of 25), quality, and strength associated with aging.

Don’t get me wrong – I’m far from an “old guy who can’t do.”  It is just what I want for me is more than just being able to do.  I want to be “one of those guys” at the gym that others look at and wonder – why can’t I do that?

The Fall 52 Day Challenge starts on Wednesday, August 6, 2014.  I’ve started re-working my exercise program – this time with the focus is on me.  Got out the Men’s Health Big Book of Exercises and designed my own workout from the Template I put together a couple of years ago.  I have done the first two workouts of the 3 day a week program.  I will post it once I’ve done the 3rd workout and determine what if any changes are needed.

This morning, I got out my Dip Belt and took it to the Gym.  Hooked up a 25 pound plate and did 3 sets of Dips.  Probably would have been more fun to just eat my way to an extra 25 pounds – ah well.  I’ll add more weight once I get up to 10 reps at this weight.

I had been at 4-45 pound plates on the Bar for Dead Lifts – that is 225.  Today, 2 plates – or 135.  Did 3 sets of 8.  Next time – adding 20 pounds and will continue to add weights until I get back to where I was.

I’m pushing to increase my weights across the board.  I’ve got some other goals in the back of my mind that I would like to push out onto the Gym floor.  Two are up and running – the Chin-ups with Hanging Leg Raises and the Weighted Dip.  Hmmm – I wonder if I could do a weighted Chin-up?

This upcoming Challenge is about climbing back up that mountain.  Gonna make it happen – after all – the more you do – the more you can do.

