I love my Kindle.  I love the Kindle Reader that I down loaded on each of my multiple computers and cell phones.  I like the reality that I can buy a book off Amazon and have it on my Kindle in less than a blink of an eye – and if I want – just a sample.  I love the fact that I can copy and paste an excerpt from a book to this blog with the proper citation – already in place.

But – I am a Klutz.  I have fat fingers and unlike the generation that has grown up texting on a miniature cell phone – I am not adept at it.  That is how I ended up buying The Exercise Cure: A Doctor’s All-Natural, No-Pill Prescription for Better Health and Longer Life, by Jordan D. Metzl, MD and Andrew Heffernan, CSCS.  I wanted the sample and then could not figure out how to cancel the order.  Still – I had been reading over the heavy marketing of this book and was considering buying it anyway.  There it was – so I kept it and read it.

I learned at a young age that if I did not have anything good to say about a person, just don’t say anything.  But – I write an exercise Blog.

If I were to title the book as part of a college course, it would be a Freshman level Intro Course for those that never had any background course in High School.  Maybe even a remedial course.

He calls it “A Doctor’s All-Natural, No-Pill Prescription for Better Health and Longer Life.

The first half of the book attempts to convince you that Exercise will cure or prevent everything that ails you.  He claims that this book will “Prevent, improve, or solve, almost any health problem!” Similar to the claims of a Snake Oil Salesman.

He takes every study or article that has been printed showing that exercise has a positive impact on a particular disease – those little squibs we see constantly on the Web and turns them into a Prescription.  Illness and health problem – one by one are analyzed on the positive effects of exercise – and when you should get your sorry arse to a real physician.  Interesting – I actually learned an item or two – maybe.

The second half is a structured exercise program that would really attract beginners.  Not a bad program and much of it is body weight with minimal equipment.  There are relatively good graphics for most exercises.  If you do not want to head to a gym – this will work for you. 

Similarly, the chapter entitled – “The Only Eating Advice You’ll Ever Need,” is very surface level and does little to provide real guidance.

If you fall into the category of a true beginner – this book might be of value in laying a ground work for more advanced study.  On the other hand – if you have any level of knowledge or experience – skip it.

