I have been doing some on-line research about exercising after my Surgery.  Bluntly, all I am getting is confused.  There is so much conflicting information out there.  Trying to make order out of chaos is not easy.  It appears that there are a multitude of time frames that are discussed – but most don’t define the time frame and trail off into ambiguity – ending with “see your doctor.”  I’ve learned that there are two types of Docs – those that exercise and those that don’t – and they have totally different view points.  Looking at my Surgeon – I doubt that he has ever seen the inside of a Gym.

Obviously the first time frame is immediately after surgery and the first couple of weeks post surgery.  This has the most restrictions.  No question about that.  Still there are those who have told me that they resumed their normal life within weeks.  Really – just how inactive is your normal life?

The next stage is healing to the point that the prosthetic is fully in place and your risk of messing things up is lessened.  The time frame on that is anywhere from 3 months to one year.  Confusing – what is the actual timing – there has to be some hard information or at least stages of healing.

And then the final – you are fully healed and are what you are.  What are the limitations?  Some are almost clear – you are not going to do high stress exercises or sports.  Also not really clear on what is a high stress exercise.

While I am doing this research, one thing has become clear.  During the healing process, there is a limitation on the depth and form of Squatting.  I understand the necessity for that.  You do not want to stress the prosthetic before it has set into the bone and you do not want it to pop out of the ball joint. 

I have been analyzing my movements for each of the various exercise I go through during a normal week.  I don’t think any of us fully realize the amount of “squatting” type movements we do.  How do you get down to the floor or for that matter up.  So all floor exercises and stretches become a problem.  As you do your own workout – keep that in mind.

There are also certain limitations on the placement of your legs while you sit or stand.  A runners stretch would be out of the question for the same reason a Kettlebell swing is a problem – the forward thrusting of your hips.

The first component of developing an alternative exercise program is identifying the limitations – in terms of movements and time frames.  Once those are known, then I can move forward. 

My research continues.

