After reading Keto Clarity: Your Definitive Guide to the Benefits of a Low-Carb, High-Fat Diet by Eric Westman MD and Jimmy Moore, I’ve been re-examining my Protein intake.   Moore’s point that he drives home with a sledgehammer is that over eating Protein undermines the body’s ability to produce Ketones.  Why – because the excess protein is converted to glucose.

I am not driving myself crazy about the amount of Ketones I produce.  Not getting a blood testing kit (yet).  However – his point is well taken.

Many people have a hard time eating enough protein, especially those still on a “Standard American Diet” which relies heavily on carbohydrates.  Me – the opposite.  I can over eat protein with a blink of the eye.   I found it necessary to consciously put on the brakes.

I have scaled back that amount of protein – not tremendously – but a few hundred calories – at the most – a day.  I have also increased my consumption of dietary fats.  I’m not going to wrap a stick of butter in a lettuce leaf and eat it (I could do it if it were sweet butter) – but instead – I’ll have a big scoop of sour cream on my veggies or a bit more butter or olive oil or coconut oil in the fry pan.

I weigh myself every morning – in part to help my wife keep control of her weight.  She has a much harder time than I do.

My weight zig-zags.  Up – down – sideways.  Since I have focused on reducing the amount of protein and increasing the amount of fat – my weight has trended downwards.  This morning, I weighed in at a nice solid 179.  I am not trying to lose weight but to maintain my weight at the 180 point – which should be the Mean – Medium and Mode point.  I would like to see 178-182 as the range.  Getting back to it.

I have started reading the Kindle edition of Wheat Belly Total Health: The Ultimate Grain-Free Health and Weight-Loss Life Plan, Dr. William Davis’ latest book published on September 16, 2014.  Interesting.  The guy really knows how to use a Soap Box.  It seems he and Lustig have the same “flame in their Belly” way of writing.  More to come once I finish the book.

