I am scheduled to have my right hip replaced mid December.  Scheduled it for the time between Challenges.  The Classic ends on December 12th and the Winter Challenge starts on January 7th.

Today, the hospital had a “workshop” for all individuals scheduled to have Hip or Knee surgery during the next month or so.  They give you an overview and you get to ask all the questions that have been keeping you up at night.  I learned a lot – some good – some not so good.

The not so good boils down to having to give up all the various anti-inflammatory and related pain meds that have kept me going these last several months.  The final 10 days are not going to be fun.  No question about that.

But the remainder of the information really came down on the good side.

Anesthesia – will not be general.  They will completely numb out my lower body and then put me to sleep.  I had better not wake up.

Unless things go south, I will not be going to a residential rehabilitation facility.  In fact – the Surgeon does not believe in Out-Patient Physical Therapy.  You get basic in-home  PT for a short time and then walk yourself back to normal.

The more restrictive aspects will be during the first 2-4 weeks, while the incision, muscle and ligaments heal.

Most of the articles that I have read on-line detailed the more significant restrictions for Posterior surgery.  I will be having Anterior Hip Replacement surgery.  When I originally met with one of the assistants at the first meeting, she gave me the wrong Post-Op instructions.  I have the correct one now.  Here is a Link to a full discussion of the differences between the two procedures.

I will not have the bending limitation or the limitation of not sitting on a low soft chair.  I will probably not even require a raised toilet seat.  That is the benefit of Anterior over Posterior.  There are some restrictions about leg positioning and movements during that first month – but not as onerous as I thought.  I will learn more.

It is always good to speak with a person who is a gym goer rather than one who is not.  The Physician’s Assistant (PA) is a women in her mid 30’s who frequents a gym.  So she was able to respond intelligently and not just as a knee jerk reaction.

When I started asking about all the restrictions on movements, she asked where I came up with those ideas.  I responded from reading all the stuff out there on the internet.  Her response.  “Stop reading.”  The only suggested “permanent” restrictions are “running.”  Why – you will wear out the equipment faster.  The second – no box jumps and similar types of rough action.  Why – aside from wearing out the equipment – you run the risk of dislocating it.  I’m not too upset by either restriction.  I am not a runner – never have been and now – never will be.  I don’t do box jumps and similar moves – back has enough problems – I don’t need to add more.

Are there any restrictions on the amount of weight I can lift or the exercises I will be able to do?  Once healed – No.

I hope she wasn’t saying that based upon her assumption of what I could do at “my age.”

I might yet be able to join the Winter 52DC with more limited goals and maybe a week late.  That would be Super.  I am hoping to go back to the Gym by the 7th – even if it is just to walk on the treadmill and get back to doing things with my body.  Three weeks with no real exercise will be the biggest lay off since I started exercising on March 12, 2007.

I will keep these series of posts going until the one year point when they say I will have achieved my fullest recovery. 

