Spending the last 7 weeks at home or in the hospital has given me plenty of time to catch up on my reading – at least when the pain meds allowed me to stay focused.

I finally finished  The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals by Michael Pollan, published in 2006.  Pollan is an entertaining writer who has bought hook, line and sinker into the Organic, Natural, Local Food concepts.  His later works expound on  his position which seems to have originally  taken root during the writing of this book.  Bluntly – it is a romanticized view of the farmer and the food industry. I guess living in Berkeley and being a Professor of Journalism at the University of California, Berkeley, this is no surprise. Having grown up in a very rural farming area of New York State and being the child of an animal feeds dealer, I found much of his view-point to be just plain unrealistic.  He is a Journalist – not a Scientist.  But – he represents one of those in the forefront of those who oppose today’s food industry.

Although I am not a big fan of the food companies that manufacture highly processed food designed to lure me to eat my way back up the scale – I am even less of a fan of the Food Elitists and Politicians who want to tell me what to eat.  After all – these same people forced the entire Low Fat – High Carb Standard American Diet on us.  Can we assume that anyone knows the RIGHT path?

Matt a/k/a wcmMatt from the 52 DC recommended that I read The Food Police: A Well-Fed Manifesto About the Politics of Your Plate, Jayson Lusk, (2013-04-16). Kindle Edition.  A click of the button later and it was on my Kindle and I read away.  

Lusk has a Ph.D. in agricultural economics and is currently a professor in the agricultural economics department at Oklahoma State University.  He is no light weight.  His writing skills may not be as polished as Pollen’s but – he says what he needs to say in a clear and unromantic manner.

These to guys are on opposite sides.  Their views of the food industry and what we should eat are diametrically opposite.  Lusk takes Pollen and his com padres to task.  Point by point he unravels the fallacy underlying the food elitists’ position.  In the end, Lusk comes out as a free market Capitalist and paints the Food Police as Communists.  I’m not to sure he is off the mark.

Given the overwhelming failure of the Low Fat mandates of the last 50 years, I am not ready to let another do-gooder determine what I should eat.  After all, I love my high fat, low carb – red meat diet.

If you are going to read The Omnivore’s Dilemma – then – makes sure you follow it up by reading The Food Police.

BTW:  Matt – thanks for the suggestion.

