My gym will periodically have a stack of free “workout” magazines for the taking.  They are usually adds for products tied together with a few articles. I rarely take one.  This time they had a new one: Physical magazine.  The headline on the front cover “Go Keto, Get Ripped, The secrets of Ketogenic eating.”  Naturally, I grabbed it and stuffed it in my bag on the way out the door.

The Article is actually entitled “Eat Fat, Get Lean” by Marie Spano, MS, RD, CSCS, CSSD. I went searching on-line and came up with the on-line link.  The article is not bad.  Most of the information is on point.

• Classic ketogenic diets are very high in fat, with approximately 80–90% of calories from fat, or 3–4 g of fat for every 1 g of protein and carbohydrate.

• A 2,600-calorie diet may contain approximately 250 g of fat (2,250 calories) and 83 g of protein and carbohydrate combined (mainly protein).

• Protein intake must be kept to fairly low levels in order to stay in ketosis. However, research shows that protein intakes below 1.2 g of protein per kilogram of ideal body weight per day while on a ketogenic diet leads to muscle loss and a decline in athletic performance. Therefore, athletes should aim for at least 1.2–1.7 g of protein per kilogram of ideal body weight per day while training.

I pretty much agree with the numbers.  1.7 g of protein for me is approximately 130 grams a day – which – when I am really exercising is about my top limit. When not exercising – I try to hold it closer to 100 grams or less.

The only aspect of the article that I find a bit annoying is the lumping of protein and carbs as if they are one unit.  This really skews the numbers as leads to eating fewer veggies.  

Nutritional deficiencies. This diet also limits a person’s food choices and, as a result, intake of certain vitamins and minerals, particularly calcium, vitamin D, iron (possibly, depending on the protein sources 
consumed), folic acid and sodium.

Especially potassium.With little to no fruit and vegetable intake, potassium levels are a concern. Given the important roles both potassium and sodium play in muscle functioning—and remember, the most important muscle in your body is your heart—physicians overseeing ketogenic diets will often provide potassium and sodium supplements.

The amount of Veggies I eat – which are 95% of my carb intake – are substantial.  I’ve checked out the nutritional information on my normal veggie intake – and – I am probably able to ignore the daily multi-vitamin.

We all need to monitor our food intake.  Individuals on the Normal Western Diet are probably eating significantly less nutritional foods than a person on a Keto Diet who pays attention to food intake.

Check out the Article – pretty good read – We’ve come a long way baby!

