The Diet Industry is based on a hope and a prayer that if you follow their lead – otherwise known as their Product – you will not merely lose weight but keep it off forever.  A new you will emerge from beneath the layers of fat.  They sell the Sizzle and we buy into it like moths to a flame.

Obesity is defined as a BMI over 30 or over. Here are the categories:

  • BMI Categories:
  • Underweight = <18.5
  • Normal weight = 18.5–24.9
  • Overweight = 25–29.9
  • Obesity = BMI of 30 or greater.

I will be the example.  I’m 5″11 and weigh between 175 and 180.  No one would consider me overweight – especially since I exercise and have more muscle than flab.  Still at 178 I am just barely in the normal weight zone and at 179 I am overweight.  When I was 260 my BMI was 36.3 and I was Obese until I got below 215.

With the above in mind, the question boils down to:  Are even the best of the best Diet Companies – such as Weight Watchers – selling us reality or a dream.

This depressing Article – says they are just selling a Dream.  I apparently am one of only 210 men who were obese and where able to return to a normal body weight.  Not only that – there is better than a 50% chance of regaining the weight over the next 5 years.  I’m on year 7.

The study, published in the American Journal of Public Health.

Conclusions: Our findings indicate that current nonsurgical obesity treatment strategies are failing to achieve sustained weight loss for the majority of obese patients. For patients with a BMI of 30 or greater kilograms per meters squared, maintaining weight loss was rare and the probability of achieving normal weight was extremely low.

Maybe if we knew what was the actual cause of Obesity, we could design a way of controlling the situation.  Then again – that would undermine the Food Industry.

Excuse me – There is a Pint of Ben & Jerry’s waiting for me.

