I am still shocked at the overall loss of muscle during 2 1/2 months of complete inactivity and inability to use my right leg in any manner – AND – another 4-8 weeks of significantly limited recovery.  But – things are different now.  I am able to do more – especially with my upper body work out.  The lower body workout is still hampered by both weakness and functionality of the right leg.

Add to that – my knees have been seriously stressed.  The right leg was re-positioned from 40 plus years of angling outwards.  It now faces relatively straight forward.  This has caused significant stress on the right knee and a certain level of instability in the legs functioning.  Walking up a flight of steps is still a bit of a challenge. The left leg has taken on more and it feels it.

Enough complaining – now for the positives.

Cardio: I’m doing 20 minutes 3 times a week on the treadmill and am up to 4 mph fast walk.  I’ve started to add in a few minutes of running at 5 mph.  Gett’n there.

Floor exercises:  Who ever thought I would want – desire – pray for the day that I could get down on the floor and do various floor exercises?  Just getting down and up was a challenge – now pretty good.  Looking forward to being able to do Burpees.  Their time will come.

Push-ups:  My goal for this Challenge is 50 per day.  The usual has been two sets – 35 and 15 but I can do one set of 50 if I have not done any other exercise that stresses the same muscles. Happiness.

Chin-ups:  Wow – when I started back doing these I was shocked at my loss of strength.  These are important for me – from an ego POV.  They are a test of my capabilities.  It has taken time – but I can do between 8-10 reps on the first set and have done 25 reps in a workout.  I have previously combined these with leg lifts – that has been more difficult.  I look in the mirror and see my right leg dragging.  But – this function is improving.

The other day – just as I finished 25 reps, a guy in his early 30’s at the most – who looks like he belongs in the gym – turned to me and said: “You can do more of those than I can do – that’s impressive.”  Damn that made me happy.

Did Cable Flys this morning for the first time in months.  As many push-ups as I do – this still hit different muscles. Between these and overhead presses – I’ve got my work cut out for me.

I’ve got to get beyond fear and trepidation and get back to kettlebell swings.  Gotta be done.

Saw an elderly man at the baseball park last evening.  His tee-shirt said “Kick cans not the bucket.” Truth.

