So many people claim that you need to drink Eight – 8 ounce glasses of water a day – that it has come to taken on its own reality.  Guys walk around the gym with gallon jugs.  Everyone carries a water bottle.  Not me.  Am I wrong?  Am I dehydrated?  Am I a fool?  Maybe not.

I came across this Article in the NY Times On-Line: No, You Do Not Have to Drink 8 Glasses of Water a Day.  The author is Aaron E. Carroll, a professor of pediatrics at Indiana University School of Medicine. He blogs on health research and policy at The Incidental Economist,

I’ve always felt guilty for not following the pack.  Actually – I just didn’t want to trot to the toilet that often. What’s the upshot?

It is a MYTH.  That’s right – one more health food myth which is part is perpetrated by companies that sell Water. Surprised? – no – not really.

A significant number of advertisers and news media reports are trying to convince you otherwise. The number of people who carry around water each day seems to be larger every year. Bottled water sales continue to increase.

I start the day with a glass of water followed by a cuppa coffee with whey powder mixed in prior to going to the gym.  At the gym – I may walk over to the water fountain for a sip or two.  Then at breakfast – 2 more cups of coffee.  At work and from then on – maybe 2-3 more glasses of some liquid.  I slow down after dinner – so I can get a full night’s sleep.

But Coffee is a diuretic – so it does not count.  Maybe not.

Water is present in fruits and vegetables. It’s in juice, it’s in beer, it’s even in tea and coffee. Before anyone writes me to tell me that coffee is going to dehydrate you, research showsthat’s not true either.

End result – you will never see me with a 52DC Personal Goal of drinking eight – 8 ounce glasses of water.  At least now – I do not have to feel guilty.

