I subscribe to the Weekly Dose from T-Nation.  No – I am not a muscle-bound big gun guy.  I am lucky if I can stop the clock from taking away all of my strength.  This Weekly Dose had an article entitled: The Ugly Truth About Ketogenic Diets by Brad Dieter, PhD.

I do not always agree with their articles.  Actually – oft-times I find them of no real value for me.  This time, the article about Ketogenic Diets piqued my interest.  I’ve linked the author’s LinkedIn bio so you can see his background and judge his ability to make the statements that he does.

Here is the upfront synopsis:

Here’s what {he says} you need to know…

  1. Ketosis occurs when carbs are in such low quantities that your body relies almost exclusively on fatty acid oxidation and ketone metabolism.
  2. Ketogenic diets have about 70-75% of your daily caloric intake coming from fat and about 5% from carbohydrates.
  3. Ingesting protein above approximately .8 grams per pound is enough to kick you out of ketosis.
  4. Ketogenic diets improve body comp, but so does any diet that reduces calories from any source.
  5. There is no literature to support that a ketogenic diet is beneficial for promoting increases in muscle mass.
  6. Ketogenic diets affect performance negatively.

I’m not going to analyze his article.  I’ll leave that for the science guys – but – there are no footnotes, no citations, no references to the information he relies upon for his conclusions.  

Please – if you are going to write something that references studies – reference the damn studies.

I do know this – I hope that I am in ketosis most of the time.  I sure as hell am not relying upon glycogen in my muscles to do my exercises.  I am not relying upon stored glycogen to fuel my aged brain.  Eight years of strength training and Ketosis has never failed me.

I guess the one statement that ruffles my feathers is:

Ingesting protein above certain quantities is glucogenic and will prevent you from staying in ketosis. In practical terms, consuming protein at or above .8 grams per pound is enough to kick you out of ketosis.

There is no question that excess protein can undermine ketosis.  But where does he get an absolute number.  This was thrown in to strike a chord with those weight lifters and body builders who rely heavily on protein consumption.  Hit that chord and they will not touch a ketogenic diet.

I would really like the opinions of others as to this article and its conclusions.

