There are times when you realize that those esoteric exercises actually had value.  That happened to me this past winter when post right hip replacement, I fell and destroyed the prosthetic.  I spent the next month in the hospital.  For 8 weeks I was prohibited from putting any pressure on my right leg.  None.  I walked with a walker using one leg to steady myself and my arms to lift and propel myself. That is when all those weighted dips became my savior. I was even able to walk up and down a flight of steps on one leg – using the railing and a crutch as the supports for the “dip.” Amazing what you will do for a Shower.

There was one other exercise which was critical to my ability to function during this time.  The Single-Leg Bench Getups.  I had been doing these as the starting point to eventually get to one-legged squats and finally a Pistol Squat.  If you have the Men’s Health Big Book of Exercises – check out pages 196 and 197.

Between the Dips and the Squats – I was able to survive and function during those 8 weeks.  This morning, after months of rehab and time back at the gym, I started Single-Leg Bench Getups again.  My left leg was fine – my right leg is going to need a lot of time and work.

Here are the progression of exercises.  Your Quads and Calves and functionality are calling on you to add these to your workout.

Single Leg Bench Getup

Single Leg Bench Getup

Single Leg Squat

Single Leg Squat

Pistol Squat

Pistol Squat

I found this YouTube Video.

