A recent Study out of University of Georgia at Athens was published in the November 2015 issue of the International Journal of Sport Nutrition and Exercise Metabolism. This was a review of previously published research articles and studies.

The take away:

Looking at the nine trials, Higgins found that between 3 and 7 milligrams per kilogram of body weight of caffeine from coffee increased endurance performance by an average of 24 percent. 

Assuming 180 pounds (82 kg), then 245 – 575 milligrams of coffee will increase endurance performance. 

This NCBI link gives further links to other studies and papers.

There is a ton of information out there defining the amount of caffeine in a cup of coffee. Depending upon the coffee bean and the brewing method the amount varies tremendously.

The standard cup of coffee has 120 mg of caffeine in an 8 fl oz cup. However, an 8 oz cup of coffee from a standard 2 oz K-Cup contains between 100-140 mg of caffeine. Most K-Cups consist of 2 tablespoons of ground coffee which equals 2 ounces of coffee.

I like the taste of dark roast coffee, which I now know has less caffeine than other types. The longer (darker) the roasting – the more caffeine is taken out of the bean.

I start each morning – before heading for the gym – with one 8 oz K-cup with 20 grams of whey protein mixed in. End result – I am having only half the amount of caffeine that will produce a result.  

BTW – this is not really new information. I had read articles that recommended two cups of coffee pre-workout, and had been doing that many years ago when I exercised lunch time and before I started a Low Carb diet.

I’ve got to re-think my morning. Is it really worth having a 2nd cup in the morning before working out? I do have that 2nd cup after working out and with breakfast, so switching it up doesn’t add to my overall caffeine consumption. I may just need to run my own little experiment to figure this one out.

