Stress comes from many sources. Work, family, emotional turmoil, illness, and loss. How each of us deals with stress is as varied as who we are.

Some meditate. Some turn to therapy. Some turn to their Doc for a happy pill. Others turn to God. There are a few who self medicate with alcohol or drugs.

The last four years have been extraordinarily stressful for this guy. Almost 4 years ago my wife had a serious stroke and was in residential re-hab for 3 months. She could no longer be my business partner. 3 1/2 years ago my son’s cardiac condition stopped him from working in our family business. 3 years ago he had open heart surgery and was on life support for close to 3 weeks. Last winter, I fell and fractured my new right hip just 2 1/2 weeks after surgery. Another surgery ensued, a month in the hospital and 3 months of rehab. This past week my son once again had open heart surgery and is now in the ICU – doing well – thank you. 

It has been a helluva a 4 years. – Oh wait – I forgot – my mother was in a Nursing home during this period and passed away 3 years ago.

During all of this, it would have been easy for me to pop a pill, dive into a tub of Ben & Jerry’s ice cream and Fuhgedaboud exercise.

What I found was that continuing my routine of going to the gym each morning and doubling down on my eating plan, kept me sane and gave me the strength to face each day.

Yes, for me, the structure of the 52DC and daily routine of exercising, was and is my self-medication. The gym became my sanctum sanctorum. 

And now you know why this Blog has been silent for while. Been a little busy. 

