A number of months ago, I got together for lunch with a guy who has been a member of a Charity Board with me. We go back probably close to 20 years now. The luncheon was scheduled because he was recovering from recent hip replacement surgery and was curious as to how my recovery went. Turns out we had the same Surgeon. He for his original work and me for the revision.

He had recently retired and our discussion ranged over many topics. He had started his career some 40 years earlier as a dietitian, and spent many years in that function within health care facilities. He ended his career as the head administrator of a large health care facility.

Eventually our discussion hit upon my weight loss. I explained the concept and referred him to the TNT Diet book by Jeff Volek and Adam Campbell. He was interested but – given his background- skeptical.

I did not hear from him for many months. The other day, I saw him and his wife.

“I have to thank you for the Good Advice. I’ve lost 30 pounds and my blood work and health have never been better.” His wife chimed in that she had lost 20 pounds.

He never got past Plan A, the basic VLCHF ketogenic diet. Said he loved eating like this and saw no need to mix it up. The guy was smiling from ear-to-ear. I asked what his physician said. He indicated that although the guy did not agree with the concept, he said “just keep doing what you are doing.”

What is interesting about the way in which the TNT Diet implements its eating plan is that it does not define how much you should eat. – Except – and this is the catch. – If you follow the suggested food lists and recipes, you will end up eating very low carb <50 grams per day, normal protein of probably 120 grams and the balance – healthy fats which means – not vegetable oils except olive. Saturated Fats are fine.

As with almost any diet, vegetables are the key – 4-5 servings a day of non-starchy veggies.

What Veggies. Here is the link to the Veggie list I put together on this Blog.

And – here is a great article that I came across this past week entitled: 21 Best Veggies for a Low-Carb Diet

And that was good advice, good advice
Good advice costs nothing and it’s worth the price
I’ll re model you, if you’ll only listen to my good advice.

