It is over 9 years since I started eating Very Low Carb High Fat and to a very large degree – damnably close to a full on Ketogenic Diet. Some Myths that are constantly thrown at us:

Myth: You can not sustain this type of eating for any length of time.

False: 9 years and 3 months with out any real problem.

Myth: Eating High Fat including an abundance of Saturated Fats will lead to out of control Cholesterol levels.

False: Had my latest blood test – this time in the Doc’s office – forgot to fast. Ah well.

Total Cholesterol
Below 200 mg/dL Desirable…………………………………………. 196
LDL Cholesterol
Below 100 mg/dL Optimal for people at risk of heart disease
100-129 mg/dL Near optimal………………………………………… 81
HDL Cholesterol
60 mg/dL and above Best ……………………………………………..92  (has been as high as 119)
Triglycerides
Below 150 mg/dL Desirable………………………………………….. 114 (usually <50 but I did not fast)
Triglycerides/HDL – Best if <=3 …………………………………….1.24

Myth: Only eat a limited number of eggs a week – Maybe one a day and increase the volume with egg whites.

False: I average >2 eggs per day every day for the past 9 years

Myth: Eating too much protein will negatively effect your kidneys.

False: I average 140 grams of protein a day. This is not high for someone my size and activity level – but double the RDA. The Doc looked at the various lab tests and pronounced my kidneys to be in great condition.

Myth: You can’t get all of your necessary vitamins, nourishment and fiber without eating fruit and carbs.

False: The person who said that – doesn’t come close to eating the amount of vegetables I eat.

The Doc looked at the results – including my blood pressure 118/66 – and said: “I have patients who would kill for these numbers.”

Enough Said!

