Yesterday we got up at what was our usual gym time – 5 a.m. to do a “Cardio” work out. That meant – I walked on the treadmill at 1.5 mph for 20 minutes. This morning – we got up late and went to the Gym for an RT (Resistance Training) workout. I did what I am allowed to do and what I was able to do.

The surgery really impacted the muscles in the left leg. Add to that – 32 days of no real workout. Baby steps.

Slept without compression stockings – whoopee! Haven’t worn them all day. Leg feels fine.

Getting steadier without the cane – but – will not walk outside without it. Having fallen two years ago and smashing up the right hip replacement – I have no desire to go through the same pain and suffering again.

I am still finding the end of the day to be the hardest part. That which I could do at 8 a.m. is damnably difficult at 8 p.m. – especially the stairs.

I stopped taking the Oxycodone and Oxycontin when I went back to work two weeks ago. Tomorrow will be the last day for the other meds that were prescribed when I left the hospital.

The interesting part of this whole process – my weight. I lost the 15 pounds that showed up post surgery – never thought is was real. As of this morning, I am down another 5 pounds. Probably because of the limitations of eating out and the restricted activity which dampens my appetite.

Given the holidays are here and the first BIG meal is tonight – this weight loss is a good thing.

Tonight we go to our friends for their Christmas Eve traditional Feast of the Seven Fishes. I believe there will actually be 9 or more. The main course – Lobster. Our hosts provide the Lobster and one or two other dishes. The guests all bring another course. I was assigned to de-bone and bring a smoked Whitefish for one of the several appetizers. My hands will never stop smelling from fish. Why me – I learned to do that while working at a Deli during college.

On this Christmas Eve and the first night of Hanukkah – May you and yours have a Joyous Holiday. Remember – Holiday food has no Calories or Carbs.

