I hosted today’s 52DC. My topic was Clean Eating. What follows is some of the “discussion” that followed:

My Post: Clean Eating – By any other name – is really confusing. 10 years ago – it meant low fat. Today – who knows?

  • Organic
  • Grass fed
  • GMO
  • Whole Foods or Minimally Processed or Highly Processed Foods.
  • Low Fat or Low Carb or Very Low Fat High Carb.
  • Weight Watchers products
  • Atkins products
  • Alcohol
  • Soda or Diet Soda or water
  • 80-20 rule or 90-10 or 100%

QOTD: What is your personal definition of Clean Eating – at least for this Challenge.

My AOTD: Over the years, I defined CE as WW approved, then Low Fat – never paid attention to anything else. Today, eating VLCHF means that most of the foods I eat are whole or minimally processed foods that we prepare. I stay away from Atkins products and similar highly processed low carb foods. My main processed foods are – condiments. I will buy organic if I can find it at a reasonable price. Have yet to find grass-fed beef locally. Not really concerned about GMOs. I limit diet soda but do not eliminate it. Alcohol – red wines mainly – or – Vodka – or light beer. I’m probably an 80-20 guy.

Jessemaa responded:

AOTD: My lovely {wife} has been an insulin dependent diabetic for over 25 years. She was injecting 70-90 units of insulin per day. She had an appointment with a new MD on 12/19 and he told her if she followed his instructions she could be off insulin in 30 days. Long story short, she stopped using insulin and started a high fat very low carb diet the next day. 60% fat 15% Carbs and 25% protein. I have followed along with the same plan.

She has lost weight and has only used very small doses of 8-10 units of insulin 5 times to deal with a high morning test. Yes folks this is a BIG DEAL.

However she has had a hard time dealing with the transition. Going from very high carbs to no carbs cold turkey has caused some stomach aches, nausea and other side effects. She is doing better day by day and she is sticking with it and will continue. She is under close monitoring with her MD and he is pleased with progress.

I am amazed at the results for her and I am experiencing fewer side effects and enjoying the food plan and losing weight, so it is a win win!

My response: Nice progress – weight loss is happening – well done. 3 cheers for your wife – she is battling a massive change and her body is fighting back. The reduction in insulin shots is just amazing. My son stayed with us for 2 days – and since he ate as we did – his insulin shots went down. He still will not try an alternative.

Jessemaa responded: TNT MAN It is not surprising your son is hesitant, diabetics have been fed a load of propaganda their whole lives. Even the Diabetes Association refuses to accept that a low carb diet is a safe alternative. Follow the money, billions are spent on diabetes related drugs. Billions in R & D for drugs but very little in nutrition studies. Unfortunately some of the proponents of the low carb diabetic solution are labeled quacks. It took one doctor who was on the program himself to inspire my lovely and I to take this huge step.

My final statement: You hit the nail on the head. Well said!

