When you tell people that you are eating a LC-Normal Protein-HF or Ketogenic diet, the knee jerk reactions kick in. We’ve all heard them. They fall into several categories.

(1) This is just one more fad diet.

(2) Eating LCHF is unhealthy because ____________ Fill in the blank.

(3) You really only lose water weight.

(4) You can’t sustain this type of eating long term.

and the real reason –

(5) I could never give up pasta.

fad diet Any of a number of weight-reduction diets that either eliminate one or more of the essential food groups, or recommend consumption of one type of food in excess at the expense of other foods. Fad diets rarely follow sound nutritional principles for weight loss, which focus on ingesting fewer calories and/or consuming more energy through exercise; fad diets are generally not endorsed by the medical profession. Segen’s Medical Dictionary. © 2012 Farlex, Inc. All rights reserved.

This common definition of a Fad Diet could apply to eating a Low Fat diet that has been the be-all-and-end-all Doctor recommended eating plan for the last 40+ years. It would also include a vegetarian or vegan eating plan.  But it is the Low Carb – Normal Protein – High Fat diet that gets the pejorative “Fad” label.

It is now more than 10 years (21 days more) since I started eating this way. I guess that means that I am an oddity, since “you” can not sustain this way of eating.

A friend – who is on month 4 – commented that this is the easiest way of eating. She is really happy with it.

I have not sustained any health detriments – and I have a physical every 6 months, along with every other type of health check up that insurance will pay for. Here are my latest Lipid numbers as of 4/1/17:

  • Cholesterol Total: 203 (100-199)
  • Tryglycerides: 43 (0-149)
  • HDL Cholesterol: 114 (>39)
  • VLDL Cholesterol Calc: 9 (5-40)
  • LDL Cholesterol Calc: 80 (0-99)

My Doc doesn’t give a hoot about my Total – given my HDL and Tryglyceride numbers.

My fasting glucose: 98 (65-99)

My pulse rate was 60. Actually when I checked it – 55.

And interestingly my blood pressure was 112/64 – pretty much the lowest it has been in ages – probably since my mid 20s. I commented – “Gee – maybe I don’t need the BP meds anymore.” These were prescribed when I was 80 pounds heavier and reduced when I reduced.

Nope – he wants to keep the pressure low so that it will not stress the aortic artery. Ok – a fog rolled over my brain when he started his explanation. Hopefully – continuing on the meds will not harm me.

But – a one person experience (experiment) is not enough to save the day from the nay sayers. 

