When I first started following a Very Low Carb High Fat (VLCHF) diet, almost 8 years ago, I did it solely for weight loss.  It worked like a miracle. No complaints.  I dropped 80 pounds and recently another 10.  It was only as I continued to live a VLCHF – Ketogenic life style that I came to realize the other health benefits.  The problem was untangling the possible causes of my new-found health.  That tangle still exits. Were the benefits due to a Ketogenic Diet, the weight loss, the exercise program, eating “whole foods” instead of highly processed foods, not eating wheat and other seeds of grasses, limiting gluten, adding various supplements OR a combination of one or more of these.  Who the “heck” knows.  I don’t – that’s for sure.

I happen to have a relatively (thank the powers-that-be) mild case of Psoriasis.  It was actually discovered by my audiologist who looked in my ears and exclaimed that I had some very dry skin in there.  The Dermatologist prescribed Steroids, which are a double edged sword.  They work, but thin the skin and have a re-bound effect.  As my lifestyle change ensued, I realized that the Psoriasis had retreated.  No – it did not disappear, but it was significantly lessened.  As I wrote this blog, others commented that various skin rashes and conditions had abated.  I brought this up to my Dermatologist – who immediately pooh-poohed the concept that a Ketogenic Diet could help.  The joys of Tunnel Vision. She is a great surgeon who did an excellent job in diagnosing and removing the basal cell carcinoma on the bridge of my nose – but her dismissive response was less than satisfying.

That is why I am pleased to see a connection that I believed was there – but which my Doc dismissed.

I spotted the following article on Flipboard: New Study Explains How Low-Carb Diet Reduces Inflammation.  I am not going to get into the science of it – since that is not me.  Read the article – read the study.  The Conclusion:

The study, which was published online in the journal Nature Medicine, showed that certain metabolic processes (Ketogenic Diet) could produce compounds inside the body that could aid in suppressing inflammatory response.

After reading that, I looked up Psoriasis or Psoriatic Disease.  I found the National Psoriasis Foundation web site and the following:

Anti-Inflammatory Diet
Psoriasis is an inflammatory disease. Many individuals benefit from following an anti-inflammatory diet to help reduce their symptoms and lower their risk of related conditions.

Check out the web site which also references – weight loss, supplements and gluten.  The Tangle remains – but less so.

So – Doc – time to hit the books – you’ve been out of school too long.

EDIT: I posted an update to this post on 5/17/17. Check it out HERE.