The TNT book suggests that once you are within grasp of your goal weight, you can switch to a plan that allows you to have carbs for anywhere from a 24-48 hour period.  The recommendation is to add complex carbs and reduce fat to balance the calories.  The authors even suggest that this is the time frame in which you could have that carb indulgence such as pizza or ice cream.  Yes – this is a form of Carb Cycling.

I found that my body’s reaction to ingesting that level of carbs was to pile on the weight.  It also made it more difficult for me to switch off the carbs.  I ended up just continuing Plan A – which is a straight Ketogenic Diet.  Yes – I will have a Carb heavy meal on special occasions, but even then I will limit the Carbs to one or two special dishes and not just a pile of mashed potatoes.

The last two weeks have been difficult with many – less than controlled eating situations.  Too many carbs and too much salty food.  By Wednesday morning, the scale was up to a weight it has not seen in a couple of years.   A solid 5 pounds more than should be there.

This morning – 2 1/2 pounds of that weight was gone.  No – you can not lose that much weight in 48 hours – unless you are off carbs and exercising. 

Eating the carbs refills your glycogen tank which holds onto 4+/- grams of water for every gram of glycogen.  Exercise uses up the glycogen stores.  Eating a Ketogenic diet does not refill the glycogen tank.  The glycogen plus water is going – going and hopefully by Sunday morning – gone.  Then I can feel less than guilty about having dinner at friends on Sunday evening.

I don’t like this Roller Coaster ride.  Yes – I know the cause – but still – the scale screams back at me – FATSO.

It got me so crazy, I started thinking about taking my weight down 5 pounds or more below where I have been for the last couple of years. 

Why is it that a person without a weight problem – never thinks about this stuff – but those who have battled weight problems their whole life – let the normal weight variance drive us crazy?

ETA:  This morning – Sat 3/30/13 – another pound down – as the Roller Coaster heads for the bottom and swings back …………….?